#BURRITOTOGO ITINERARY

For seven months, from September 2017 to April 2018, I was technically homeless. I sold my home in Knoxville, put my belongings into storage, and packed my car with as few things as I could manage in order to hit the road and live like a nomad. I traveled with my best friend, Cheri, my dog, Asher, and Cheri’s dog, Norah. We drove more than 18,000 miles, checking off visits to 27 states and, I think, twelve National Parks. I also had a couple of international trips for work during this time, to Spain and Australia.
On Instagram, I used the hashtag #burritotogo to track my travel photos.
Here is a record of the trip itinerary. Numbers in parentheses indicate the number of states visited in total.

September 2017

  • Friday, Sep 22 – sold house in Knoxville, TN (country # 1 – USA)
  • Saturday, Sep 23 – flew to Barcelona, Spain (country #2 – Spain)
  • Friday, Sep 29 – flew to TN, spent the night in Crossville, TN
  • Saturday, Sep 30 – drove to Leitchfield, KY (1)

October 2017

  • Sunday, Oct 1 – drove to KS via IL and MO (2, 3, 4)
  • Monday, Oct 2 – drove to Colorado Springs, CO (5)
  • Wednesday, Oct 4 – drove to Crested Butte, CO
  • Saturday, Oct 14 – drove to Trinidad, CO
  • Sunday, Oct 15 – drove to Gallup, NM (6)
  • Monday, Oct 16 – drove to Las Vegas, NV via AZ (and the Grand Canyon) (7, 8)
  • Tuesday, Oct 17 – drove to Fresno, CA (9)
  • Thursday, Oct 19 – visited Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks
  • Friday, Oct 20 – drove to Davis, CA
  • Saturday, Oct 21 – visited Napa Valley
  • Sunday, Oct 22 – drove to Sacramento, CA
  • Wednesday, Oct 25 – drove to Arcata, CA (via Redwood National Park)
  • Thursday, Oct 26 – drove to Lakeside, OR (10)
  • Sunday, Oct 29 – drove to Bend, OR
  • Monday, Oct 30 – drove to Boise, ID (11)
  • Tuesday, Oct 31 – drove to Salt Lake City, UT (12)

November 2017

  • Saturday, Nov 4 – visited Antelope Island
  • Tuesday, Nov 7 – drove to Brian Head, UT
  • Friday, Nov 10 – visited Zion National Park
  • Monday, Nov 13 – visited Bryce Canyon National Park
  • Tuesday, Nov 14 – drove to Moab, UT
  • Wednesday, Nov 15 – visited Arches National Park
  • Thursday, Nov 16 – drove to Dinosaur National Monument and Laramie, WY (13)
  • Friday, Nov 17 – drove to Lincoln, NE (14)
  • Saturday, Nov 18 – drove to Madison, WI via IA (15, 16)
  • Sunday, Nov 19 – drove to Barrington, IL (17)
  • Wednesday, Nov 23 – drove to Lafayette, IN (18)
  • Monday, Nov 27 – drove to Baileyton, TN (19)
  • Wednesday, Nov 29 – drove to Myrtle Beach, SC via VA and NC (20, 21, 22)

December 2017

  • Friday, Dec 22 – drove to Orlando, FL via GA (23, 24)
  • Wednesday, Dec 27 – drove back to Myrtle Beach, SC

January 2018

  • Monday, Jan 8 – flew to San Antonio, TX (25)
  • Wednesday, Jan 10 – flew back to Myrtle Beach, SC
  • Friday, Jan 26 – drove to Orlando, FL
  • Tuesday, Jan 30 – drove to Knoxville, TN
  • Wednesday, Jan 31 – drove to La Porte, IN

February 2018

  • Saturday, Feb 3 – drove to Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and then on to Holt, MI (26)
  • Thursday, Feb 8 – drove to Leitchfield, KY
  • Saturday, Feb 10 – drove to Charleston, WV (27)
  • Sunday, Feb 11 – drove to Winston-Salem, NC
  • Thursday, Feb 15 – drove to Knoxville, TN (via Asheville, NC)
  • Friday, Feb. 16 – drove to Leitchfield, KY

March 2018

  • Wednesday, Mar. 14 – drove to Nashville, TN and flew to Los Angeles, CA
  • Thursday, Mar. 15 – flew to Brisbane, Queensland, Australia (country #3 – Australia)
  • Monday, Mar. 19 – drove to Montville, Queensland, Australia
  • Tuesday, Mar. 20 – drove to Noosa Heads, Queensland, Australia
  • Friday, Mar. 23 – drove to Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
  • Saturday, Mar. 24 – flew to Nashville, TN and drove to Leitchfield, KY

April 2018

  • Sunday, Apr. 1 – drove to Nashville, TN
  • Friday, Apr. 6 – drove to Waynesboro, TN
  • Monday, Apr. 9 – drove to Leitchfield, KY
  • Sunday, Apr. 15 – drove to Knoxville, TN
  • Wednesday, Apr. 18 – moved into an apartment in Knoxville, TN (3 mo. lease)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s